Saturday, October 17, 2015

Review: Blurred Lines by Lauren Layne




Publication Date: 8/25/2015

Rating:  4 Stars








Official Blurb:

In a novel that's perfect for fans of Abbi Glines and Jessica Sorensen, USA Today bestselling author Lauren Layne delivers a sexy take on the timeless question: Can a guy and a girl really be “just friends”?

When Parker Blanton meets Ben Olsen during her freshman year of college, the connection is immediate—and platonic. Six years later, they're still best friends, sharing an apartment in Portland's trendy Northwest District as they happily settle into adult life. But when Parker's boyfriend dumps her out of the blue, she starts to wonder about Ben's no-strings-attached approach to dating. The trouble is, even with Ben as her wingman, Parker can't seem to get the hang of casual sex—until she tries it with him.

The arrangement works perfectly . . . at first. The sex is mind-blowing, and their friendship remains as solid as ever, without any of the usual messy romantic entanglements. But when Parker's ex decides he wants her back, Ben is shocked by a fierce stab of possessiveness. And when Ben starts seeing a girl from work, Parker finds herself plagued by unfamiliar jealousy. With their friendship on the rocks for the first time, Parker and Ben face an alarming truth: Maybe they can't go back. And maybe, deep down, they never want to.



I went into this book thinking, “Okay, I love Jessica Sorensen… so I should love Lauren  Layne, right?”

Well… I do!  While a friends to romance story always pulls at my heartstrings, this was a sweet, addicting story.  The story line is simple yet enticing.  Your heart will flutter along with Parker’s.  It almost makes you relive that first teenage love kind of feeling. I did find the story a bit predictable, but at the same time it was almost mentally relaxing to know that I wouldn’t have to stress about unexpected twists and turns.   I’ve been in a book funk for the last few weeks and Blurred Lines really helped me break out back into reading.  Sometimes, a simple well written book is just what the doctor orders.




No comments:

Post a Comment